Building Plans - Heybarnes Branch
Date Plans passed: June 1st 1928
Architect: City Surveyor
The Block Plan shows the location of the branch amongst houses
The completed building boasts a grander entrance,
and feature window on the first floor, than the original design
The Fosbrooke Road side of the building
incorporates the entrance to the first floor flat
The Banking Hall measures 38' 3" x 21' 0", off which are the strongroom (7' 6" x 6' 6") and the staff messroom (12' 0" x 10' 0")
The three-bedroom flat above the branch has its main access from Fosbrooke Road.
A steel staircase at the rear of the property rises
to a concrete landing from which doors
open to the flat's scullery and coal storage area.
Heybarnes branch was not a successful
office and was closed on September 4th 1948.
Not long afterwards, the building was sold (or possibly rented) to the National Union
of Public Employees.
The Midland Division of the Union used the ground floor as office premises and, in 1970, applied
for planning permission
to convert the residential accommodation on the first floor to also use as office space.
Later, the premises were used to accommodate the
Qamarul Islam Mosque